Are you extra?

Are you extra?

I’m sure that by now, most of us have heard the phrase, “He or she is so extra”. I’m just wondering where did this little term come from. I have lately found myself referring to individuals as being “extra”. It’s just one of those things that you hear everyone saying, and before you know it, it has seeped into your vocabulary as well. But, just what classifies someone as being extra? And is everybody’s interpretation of extra the same? I’ve thought of a few examples of “extra” behavior for your review and maybe you’ll agree with my thoughts on the matter.

1. A woman walks to an elevator but before pressing the button to get on, she pulls out disinfectant wipes and spray and thoroughly cleans the panel. She is “extra”.

2. A member of the usher board is high-stepping down the aisle during church service. The other ushers are moving steadily in one calm motion, while Mr. High stepping usher has his head held high, his chest poked out, and his elbows bent, while making sharp turns at every corner. Brother high-stepping usher is being “extra”.

3. A woman goes to a school PTA meeting dressed rather provocatively. The parents look at her in disbelief. She rolls her eyes and turns to them and speaks in a voice loud enough for the entire room to hear her as she says, “I dress like this because everybody does it, besides I wanted people to stare at me today”, Ms. barely dressed is so “extra”.

4. My oldest daughter is a huge Kanye West fan. Last night she went to the Jay-Z/ Kanye West concert (she’s grown) and while there she texted me every five minutes overly excited about how close her seats where to the stage, seeing Beyonce seated across from her in the audience and things like that. Then she texted and said, “Ma, Kanye is right in front of me, oh boy, panic attack, freaking out, can’t breathe, so close, panic, done”.

I kindly texted her back and told her, you are so “extra”. Lol…

So you see, being extra is just another way of saying a person is behaving in a way that is unnecessary, over the top, dramatic, inappropriate, too much of, overreacting, just plain ole…….extra. Today, I’m multi-tasking, working my regular 9-5, while focusing on some personal stuff, in which case I haven’t had a lot of time to devote to writing, but I wanted to do a quick outfit post anyway, and show you guys that I kept it real basic today, blending my colors with the fall temps, making sure that I am certainly not looking “extra”. 🙂

God Bless, and have a great day!

I’m wearing:

Blue corduroys -Urban OutfitterS

Flower print top-Burlington

Blazer- Macy’s

Boots- Target

Bag- Target

Pearl necklace -old

Earrings, Bracelets, and Sunnies- Forever21

20111102-150424.jpg

20111102-150443.jpg

20111102-150505.jpg

7 comments
  1. Julia Price Williams said:

    I feel “EXTRA” today.I want a PEPSI SO BAD,my family won’t let me have one!!! I guess that makes me EXTRA. Looking out for me!!!!

    • hahaha.. Yes, I’m afraid your being “extra”… probably sweating, shaking, thinking about a nice cold Pepsi. Maybe even caught a slight attitude because someone looking out for your best. that would make you “EXTRA”.
      lol… thanks for reading:-)

  2. Guurrl this post was too funny! My best friend says “extra” all the time I’m like where did you get that from?? But she has two teenage daughters so y’all making me feel real old and out of the swing of things! Love the post!

  3. Deelightful Dee said:

    Love that jacket! I also cracked up as I read the post. It was so descriptive that I swear I could see Mr High Stepping. Thanks for sharing and in the meantime, I’ll try not to be “extra”.

  4. Hahahaha.. You can just imagine Mr High- stepping.. Everybody has atleast one person at their church on the usher board who is just “extra”…. Lol.. Glad you like the jacket and the story!

  5. So far I’m enjoying your blog! Can’t wait to read some more! xx Some people would think I’m “extra”! Being in South-Africa, I’ve never heard of this term. Glad I did now! haha. xx EXTRA!

    • Now that is too funny! you are a self professed “extra” individual. lol… I’m glad you like the blog, and please come by again!

Leave a Reply

