A stranger in Moscow….

A lady I know gave me a pamphlet, and asked me was I interested in sending my daughter to a four-day seminar geared towards empowering young girls. I checked out the information, and although it seemed like a great seminar to get my fourteen year old involved in, it wasn’t a good time for me and my family. I saw the woman a few weeks later and she asked me, “Did you register your daughter for the conference”? I replied that I hadn’t. She asked, why? I said because she didn’t want to go (which she really didn’t) although if I wanted her to go, she would have gone. I always let my children share opinions when they are concerned, but it goes without saying that I am the parent, and I the make the decisions. That was neither here, nor there. I was focusing on the stirring in my spirit telling me that this un-invited conversation was about to go south. So this chic goes off on this tangent about how it’s a seminar for empowering young girls. Ok and what about me would make you think I didn’t gather that from reading the pamphlet? And then… She made a wrong turn. She looked towards my daughter and said, “Do you want to be inferior? Or do you want more for your life? She then says to me, you should make her go, what else is she going to be doing. I was so in shock with how this stranger basically just came for my daughter. Do not come for me, if I didn’t send for you lady. Who are you? Who is she? She was like A Stranger in Moscow. You know, it took everything in me and the will of God to keep from cursing her out. I’m all for the old African proverb, it takes a village, but in this case, I believe in my new proverb, people really need to mind their own business. She had no idea of what’s going on with me now or that my daughter wasn’t going mainly because it was way too expensive on too short of a notice. She doesn’t know these things because, she doesn’t know me. She isn’t a friend of mine at all, and she definitely over stepped her bounds. I didn’t need her to advocate for MY child, MENTOR her, or make her feel any type of way about it. I mean who are you? Who is she? She was a stranger in Moscow that day. Insides warm as fire, outside cold as ice. Em, Em, Em. Some people aren’t even worth the energy. This woman is a busy body, a fraud, an opportunist, a hypocrite and a non-factor. You would have to know the history I have with her to know the contempt I felt for her that day. (Don’t judge me, I already asked God to forgive me.) It was a lot of kids present, and the environment we were in was totally not the place to explode. Besides, I’m a child of the king so I did what he would have wanted of me. I said the minimum and walked away from this one. Now, the moral to the story is, stay in your lane, and stop trying to occupy mines. God has put me in this lane for a reason, and you cannot come into my lane. You can’t have what I have, because what I have is for me. There is a divine purpose for your life. You have a lane of your own, so why can’t you be happy there. Some people are so empty, they will try to feed off of any tank they can. Sorry, my tank is always full, and it’s never up for grabs. Thank you very much!

So now that I’ve had my venting session… Let’s proceed. Today is a glorious day. We all should definitely embark on the beauty of it. In spite of the enemy coming for me, I’m still good. And I’m still blessed!!

Peace and blessings

Here is what I’m wearing today.

Black and white tweed blazer gifted

Yellow tee- H & M

Beige Corduroy’s- Thrifted

Belt- Thrifted

Clutch- Thrifted

Boots- Barefeet

Earrings, Bracelets- Forever21

necklace gifted

Hair Bow Dots

Just so you know, my eyes are squinting from the sun on the pictures and not frowning.

20111103-121715.jpg

20111103-121807.jpg

20111103-121908.jpg

20111103-122016.jpg

20111103-122032.jpg

20111103-122106.jpg

20111103-122123.jpg

20111103-122133.jpg

6 comments
  1. julia williams said:

    Once you realize who and what You Are and Where u are coming from and Where u are going,there’s no need to explain.

    • Thank you!!! I’m glad you stopped by as I am such a fan of yours! 🙂

  2. Mary Conyers said:

    I really could not stop reading. You are so amazing. As I was reading, I found myself smiling, laughing and crying. But through it all, look what God has done in your life and He is not finish with you.

    Lets talk about the thift store. You need to hangout with me. Will allow me to take you up to Hagerstown and Pennsylvania? GREAT DEALS!!

  3. Awww thank you for stopping past the blog as well as commenting. For many, I don’t know if they have been here unless they comment so, thank you. And YES, YES, YES…. I AM DOWN FOR THRIFTING ANY DAY. U just let me know when and where!
    Thanks for the encouragement! And keep coming back

Leave a Reply

