The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree

Twelve years ago today, in 1998 my life was changed forever. My mother, departed this life at the tender age of just fourty-four. It was some years back, but for me, it still feels like yesterday. She was beautiful, and warm spirited, and generous, loving, and kind, and she was my mother. People say, they know how I feel, they say she’s in a better place… But, the pain and yearning to see her, breathe her, and show her, that I’ve finally got it right never goes away. I’ve been holding this cry in for two days, and I just gotta let it go….
……. Missing her…….
With God, I’ve I made it to the point of acceptance, and learned that I can continue to live, and love my Mom in spirit, heart and mind. Every now and again, I dream of her, and I appreciate those moments. I notice and I smile at the essence of her beauty wrapped in my children, her grandchildren. I’m so thankful for the life I’ve been given, and thankful that I had a chance to know one of life’s most loveliest to grace God’s earth..
My Momma:

20111125-212100.jpg

20111125-212246.jpg

20111125-212349.jpg
Take a look at her offspring..
Me wearing:
Denim Shirt- Walmart
Belt- Arden B
Blue Skinnies- H&M
Heels- Barefeet
Earring, Bangles- H&M
Necklace-Gift
Watch- daughter’s

20111125-214743.jpg

20111125-214755.jpg</

20111125-214921.jpg
My kids were acting like they didn’t want to take pics. Party poopers! I had to sneak a few
Twenty is wearing:
Tee- Urban Outfitters
Denim Jacket- Levi
Corduroy- Levi
Shoes- Ugg
Scarf- Old Navy

20111125-215315.jpg
Hard to see Fourteen is wearing:
Tee- Target
Pants- H&M
Denim Jacket- Gap thrifted
Boots- Target
Headband- made by fourteen

20111125-215633.jpg
Twelve is wearing:
Hoodie- Target
Vest- Old Navy
Levi’s Jeans- Target
(isn’t he handsome!)

20111125-215942.jpg<

20111125-220104.jpg
Four was too busy having fun with her cousins to take pics yesterday. Here’s a recent headshot.
Four is wearing:
White Tee
Flower bow- made by me

20111125-220716.jpg

We are my mom’s legacy..and she lives on in us each day..

Peace and blessing
Dee

17 comments
  1. julia williams said:

    Very excellant tribute to Marsha. I miss her always. I’m sure she’s looking down on her children and grands. She’s proud.

  2. Beautiful post. Your mother was beautiful. I cannot imagine losing your mother at such a young age, but the silver lining is that you can carry her in your spirit where ever you go. Love the photos of you and your family. Love your style.

  3. Your mom was beautiful and you look like her! I won’t say I know exactly how you feel because I don’t, however I lost my Dad on this date 19 years ago so I do understand the pain the loss of a parent causes. There are so many things I wish he could have lived to see… my children (he only lived to see 2), I know he would have loved my husband and I just want him to be here period. Hold on to the memories of her in your heart, time will never erase the hurt but those memories are what will make you smile and go on.

  4. Calli said:

    Your mother was beautiful! Your post was very uplifting.

    Keeping staying Cheap & Fabulous!

  5. Thank you for sharing the photos of your family, I can definitely see the resemblance to your Mom!

  6. What a beautiful tribute to your mother. I’ll bet she is smiling.

  7. Nicole Elmore said:

    Tears… I Never had the honor of knowing your mom,but I can sense of sweet spirit all over this blog. I cant hold back the tears. BEAUTIFULLY SPOKEN DE’LISA!!! I am sitting with my kids & I want to tell you that you encourage my heart today as a single mother of six. Tears…….

  8. You know what, I’m so sentimental and it’s ok, because when I read that you feel me, and you have tears, it fills me up because I know that God has and will continue to connect the right people to this blog for a reason. This single mother thing ain’t easy but we are doing it. I’m here to tell you, we got this! Be encouraged!!!

  9. Bus said:

    Sis I understand how you feel. Count it a privilage to have had the opportunity
    to spend as much time with her as you did. I have memories but not as many as you But we know all things work together for the good and everything happens for a reason. I used to always wonder what if mom raised me, how would our relationship be, and how different of a man I might be. But I can’t dwell on that, but I realize a part of her does live in you and in my children. So I can still show her that I love her through the legacy she left on this earth. She was an angel with a beauitful sprite. For lack of words thats the best way I can describe her.
    I was blessed today reading this blog. Thank you. Love you.
    Your Brother

    • Thanks for your comment. I felt every word. I know you have your own struggles with this issue for different reasons. And you are entitled to that. I support your feelings and I love your maturity. The legacy starts with us and it flows through our kids and lives on through them. I’m glad your reading the blog, trust me, I am moved beyond words by your presence here. Love you brother.

  10. DeeDee said:

    Hey De (hope I spelled your name correctly), its your cousin DeeDee, one of your Aunt Denise’s daughters. I just have to say wooooowww and I’m so proud that you’re my cousin! This blog is awesome and inspiring like you wouldn’t believe. Your children are beautiful. I saw and met them a few years ago and I can’t believe how much they’ve grown. Time really flies by! You look just like my sister Zena that it’s crazy yall aren’t sisters!! Aunt Marsha is just beautiful. She was the closest to us because I remember talking to her most growing up and when we would visit she always made us feel like she loved us know matter what and I felt like she was genuinely so happy to see us all the time. I really do love her. I’ll be praying for you because I know it’s hard for you with missing Aunt Marsha seeing as how we just lost our father April 20 and the heartache is at times unbearable because I was really close to him and even though he was ill for a while, there is still NO WAY to prepare for the loss but God really does carry me through it and I know He’ll continue to do it for you and Bus. I’ll definitely be praying for you and your family 🙂

    • Hey Dee Dee.. Thanks for stopping by and reading the blog. It’s a little funny how you went into detail describing exactly who you are as if I wouldn’t know. Lol.. Of course I know my fam! Thx for your kind words. Please come by to read again. Love ya
      Dee

Leave a Reply

