Blessings and Giveaways

(This post is picture heavy)

Hello everyone. Happy Holidays to you all. This was such a blessed time with family and friends. It’s the most wonderful time of year. People genuinely seem more caring, loving, and thoughtful. I also understand that for some, this time of year brings great sadness because of the lost of their loved ones. My heart goes out to those, as I know all to well the ache that resides in your heart out of missing someone who has left this life. A co-worker was having a serious emotional blow, as she had just lost her Mom three months ago. All week, I saw a sadness in her eyes and when she finally did breakdown, I was right there. I believe God wanted me by her side at that moment because I happened to be the only other co-worker that had lost a mother. I walked, talked, laughed, cried, and prayed with my co-worker. It was very emotional and healing. I thank God for giving me the strength to be there for someone else and for allowing her to release what she’d been holding in all week. Lord knows, I miss my mother in ways I cant even express, but I also know, it has gotten easier to deal with over the years. I always imagine my mom’s radiant smile watching my kids opening presents on Christmas morning. I find comfort in that.

20111227-162257.jpg

20111227-162322.jpg

20111227-162343.jpg

20111227-162403.jpg

20111227-162422.jpg

20111227-162448.jpg

20111227-162554.jpg

20111227-162610.jpg

20111227-162634.jpg

20111227-162730.jpg

I was on a mission this season to really expound on the true meaning of Christmas to my kids, and I feel extremely good about that. I’ve had these chats with all my kids over the years, but I drilled it hard this time. The four year old was the most challenging to convey the message to. I’m telling her their is no Santa and her classmates have told her differently. I didn’t want her to go back and ruin it for them because that’s not my place. I told her, Santa doesn’t visit us, maybe he does visit your friends but God blesses Mommy so that she is able to buy you nice presents. I think she got it. I told her all about the birth of Jesus, his parents, the manger, and the sacrifice he made so that we could live. She said, “and now he’s in the sky right Mommy”? “Because he died for you and me right Mommy”? Ah ha! Don’t underestimate small children. They listen, and soak up knowledge like a sponge and they remember. They watch us and they mimic our actions, and learn our behavior. Her concepts are a little fuzzy, but still her understanding is brilliant for a four year old. I keep quizzing her periodically and for the most part, she is on point.

The birth of Jesus is the most important contribution known to man. When I think about it, I always get overwhelmed and my heart leaps for the birth of Christ. To be born so that I could live. So that I could be saved. I can never articulate my true feelings about this, because the feelings are too great for words. All day long, I just said out loud, Happy Birthday Jesus! Thanking God for his son. My pastor preached an awesome message on Christmas morning.

I ate a little more than I should have over the past few days. It’s alright though, because I feel fine about it. We went to visit a few different family members, and the food was great. Day #2 and I look like I should move away from the table. After I’ve had my fill, now I’m sick of eating it, I’ve had enough! Lol..

20111227-163206.jpg

We were truly blessed this holiday season. I received some nice gifts. Very loving and thoughtful gifts. My kids were triple blessed. I love watching their faces light up with excitement while ripping their gifts apart. I love receiving, but also enjoy giving. My four year old ended up with six coats.

20111227-163823.jpg
That’s right six really nice coats. I was very happy, but also knew she didn’t need six coats. Two were purchased by me, and the other four were gifts. I thought, this is a great time to teach her the value of giving to someone else. She was all for it, and picked out a coat and a recipient right away. My son also ended up with three coats. I’m telling you, we were blessed! When your blessed, you have to bless someone else. So, I figure it’s the perfect time for a giveaway. I’ve already given away one coat, and still have two size 5 girls coats both are fitting a little too snug, and one size 10/12 boys coat that is too small for my son.. Their are no rules, or no follow guidelines for this giveaway, I just feel compelled to share our blessings. I don’t have gift receipts and have no clue where the coats were purchased so return options are out. If any of you, my readers know anyone in need, direct them here. Just tell me the coat you want and whoever does that first will have it. It’s that simple. I will leave my email address at the end of this post so that the winner can give me their contact info, and I will mail the coat through united states postal service within 10 days.

Here are the coats up for grabs. Aren’t they adorable?

20111227-164004.jpg

20111227-164016.jpg
Here are a few pics I snapped of the kids throughout the last few days. I took not one outfit picture of myself. It’s been so much excitement going on for the past few days, I honestly forgot.

20111227-164146.jpg

20111227-164201.jpg
She had a ball on her new scooter and looks fashionably cute in here dinosaur helmet(walmart)

20111227-164350.jpg

20111227-164410.jpg

20111227-164430.jpg

20111227-164448.jpg

20111227-164459.jpg

20111227-164531.jpg she loves this pillow pet, a gift from great-gma.

20111227-164637.jpg

20111227-164647.jpg

20111227-164657.jpg

20111227-164705.jpg

20111227-164716.jpg

20111227-164733.jpg

20111227-164744.jpg

I hope everyone had a wonderful and blessed holiday. So tell me, Did you get any good gifts?

Peace and blessings,
Dee
cheapandfabmom@gmail.com

12 comments
  1. julia Williams said:

    Another good article. Thank God for allowing me the priviledge to enjoy my family and friends on This His Birthday. Got some Wonderful,much needed gifts this year. My aim was to give to my grands and greats. It truly more blessed to give than to receive. Think about it,God gave His son who sacrificed His life so that we may have eternal life. What Greater Gift than that?

    • Your so right. We did get the ultimate gift! Glad you enjoyed and thanks for reading!

  2. What a dear post. Blessings in abundance. I love love love picture heavy posts. Those babies of yours are just adorable.

    Every time I come to your page, I miss a bit of Baltimore. It was my home for 10 years.

    • Thanks Doll. I’m
      Glad you enjoyed it!!! Yes, Bmore in all it’s madness does wedge itself in your being somehow.. Lol

  3. Jeeda said:

    You my dear are a fabulous mom!! Love the post and the values you instill in your children and the pics of the babies (who are too cute for words I might add) opening their gifts are tooo precious. Dee this is such a thoughtful giveaway…you will forever be blessed. And I’m gonna take it upon myself to say “thanks” for your co-worker for being there for her at such a terrible time. I am all too familiar and let me tell you it’s a grief like no other.
    http://www.swoonblog.com

    • Thanks Jeeda!!! I appreciate your kind words and your compliments!!

  4. Mary Conyers said:

    I’m so proud of you teaching your children the real reason why we celebrate Christmas. Plus you are teaching them how to be a giver. Again, thank Miss Jordy for the Christmas present. So glad to have you and the kids over. I really enjoy them (and you too). Love you!!

    • Awww *Heartstrings*. Thank you for being the great supporter that you are and always showing love. 🙂

  5. Nicole Elmore said:

    Cheap and Fabulous Mom, Your Spirit spreads so much Love…
    You are truly Blessed and Highly Favored. I love the fact, that you share
    from your heart. You give hope, you give inspiration, You give LOVE..
    The look on your kids faces are priceless.. God is using you in such a mighty way.. Keep letting your Light SHINE, Because everytime I come here, it brightens my heart….( Check your facebook inbox also)

    • Thanks Nic!!! You always know what to say!!! Got your inbox, and I got you!!!
      Dee

  6. Happy Holidays! I am so glad you were there to support your colleague, as I can only imagine how difficult it is for her to experience the first holiday without her Mom. I can’t even imagine having to go through it one day, my eyes are tearing up as I type this. You had a wonderful Xmas and your kids should feel so lucky to receive all these wonderful gifts and you are doing a great thing by helping them understand the value of being thankful and giving to others.

    • Thank you so much for reading and for your awesome comments. Glad you stopped by 🙂

Leave a Reply

