Protective style for naturals- Is a weave a girls best friend?

**picture heavy**
Hey Dears
Just a quick post about my hair. I took my braids out. I had them in for about a month. The hair was too tangled for my liking and my scalp was itching like crazy. I knew I had to do something else to protect my natural hair. If I look at it too long, I might be tempted to slap the creamy crack(relaxer) back in it. You know, once a addict, always a addict.
Yesterday I went and got a full sew in weave for the first time. Let me tell you, I don’t know how women do it. I was in so much agony. During the process I had feelings of regret, nausea, confusion, you know second guessing my decision the whole time. I had no idea how painful the process is to get a hair weave. I’m not what you’d call tender headed either. That pain was real. A headache is an understatement. I’ve been taking pain pills, like foreal, nobody warned me that it would feel like this. The weaveologist told me that my scalp is more sensitive since my hair is natural and that when it grows out more, it wont hurt as much. I know the stylist was sick of me! Lol.. I’m not even the type to do hair salons, as I’ve been doing my own hair for years. I’ve even sewn in weaves on other folks, but never on myself. Anyway, enough of my whining. It’s done now, I’m still in pain too.
I totally forgot to snap some pics of my hair after I took the braids out. It’s growing alot. I’ll show a few of my hair journey pics below and my new style. I’m still trying to get use to this look. I haven’t had long hair since I was a child. I’ve been chopping and whacking it off since I was like sixteen. I think short hair just compliments my face better. And I’ve noticed, this hair really has me looking like a teen. I don’t know if I like it yet. You guys let me know what you think.

In the beginning

20120211-130938.jpg
Big chop was in June-(excuse the huge pimple, but it is what it is)

20120211-131205.jpg

20120211-131331.jpg

20120211-131409.jpg

20120211-131439.jpg

20120211-131629.jpg
I was missing the creamy crack, so I blew it out

20120211-131904.jpg

20120211-163601.jpg

20120211-163635.jpg
Drum roll- now the weave!

20120211-163733.jpg

20120211-163806.jpg

20120211-163846.jpg

20120211-163907.jpg

20120211-163934.jpg
Look at this pain, this is how tight my braids are underneath

20120211-164034.jpg

20120211-164046.jpg
The back

20120211-164158.jpg

20120211-164220.jpg

20120211-164244.jpg
Thanks for watching my hair journey. Pray for me that this pain goes away!!!

Happy Saturday- I’m in the streets with my cuzzo today.

Peace and Blessings,
Dee

6 comments
  1. Ubdivine97 said:

    Yes a full weave is no joke but like your stylist said it will loosen up. I took my half braids/weave out several weeks ago. You definitely have to be creative with natural because the perm us tempting at times. I love the convience of wigs also. I purchased a loose curl fro wig by BESHE called SC-Ruby. It’s really cute.
    Anyway I love all your looks especially the fro thanks for sharing.

  2. Mary Conyers said:

    With the long hair, you and Jordy look alike. Lol. I love it and you wear it well.

  3. My hair is like yours was in the beginning pic. That’s how I keep it for personal reasons. I just have brush waves. Although I am small framed, works for me. I am against weave. That’s just me. Makes your hair fall out just like perm in the long run. I think you look better with the natural shorter hair. My opinion Virgo. You know I got one. You actually look good all natural. Weave taking away from your face. Blah blah blah………. lol

  4. Nic said:

    love the transformation! the weave looks nice…the back is sharp!

    ~Nic

  5. Your hair is cute, Dee! I know your pain all too well though, sis! They’re always so tight the first couple of days. Don’t worry though. It loosens up and all is well!

    I’m in love with your fro, though btw 🙂

  6. Xienna Souza said:

    OUCH!!! those braids look wwwaaaaayyyy too tight. you should have opted for a wig until your hair got a little longer. I know she was a weavie wonder and all.. but certain braiding methods don’t work for everyone. nice look though it does make you look younger but in an “I know what i’m doing” kind of way. I think you look nice with both looks

Leave a Reply

