Pause for the cause (again)

MLK is still my childhood hero. Happy Birthday to one of the worlds greatest visionaries, and overall makers of peace. In observance of today, I thought it best to reblog my thoughts from last year.

DeeJourney of a (old

20120116-200404.jpg

20120116-200416.jpg

20120116-200424.jpg
Fashion break.
Hence the title, this is not a fashion post. In honor of MLK day, I decided to share a childhood memory in representation of the day.

It started when I was a kid, my fascination with the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King. I don’t really know exactly how my obsession began, but I made it my business to devour every piece of literature I could find on King. For starters, we didn’t have a lot of images in books at school of black americans. There were a select few and among them, my favorites were Harriet Tubman, Langston Hughes, and Martin Luther King.
Dr. King was the most talked about famous black American.
I credit my grandfather for learning me up on several black americans that I would have never otherwise heard of.

In 1983 I was in the 6th grade, and I had an…

View original post 600 more words

1 comment
  1. Nicole Elmore said:

    Good Morning Cheap and Fabulous Mom!!! I enjoyed reading ” Pause for the Cause”
    Keep up the Great Work you are doing.
    Have a FABULOUS DAY!!!!!

Leave a Reply

