Naturally, Blue Ivy Carter

Sometimes these walls seem to cave in on me but when I look in your eyes, I feel alive. Some days we say words that don’t mean a thing, but when you’re holding me tight, I feel alive”

Blue obviously has an undistinguishable language that
even her mother Beyonce cannot always understand, but the heart understands it as love and somehow that makes it alright. Beyonce professed this, as well as her love in the newly released song, Blue feat. Blue Ivy Carter. Clearly, mom loves her daughter. I don’t know the Carters’ but, the love seems pretty apparent to me. However, common angst amongst the viewing public, mainly the watchful, hating our naturally nappy hair, eye of the black woman suggest that because Blue’s hair is unkempt,  uncombed, or missing barrets, bows or hair ties, her mother must not love her. Her mother must not care,  some even have gone as far to call it neglect. Comeon people. Neglect?
Really?
Some of you are reaching a bit far with that. Don’t cha think.

Mommy obviously isn’t bothered by Blue’s natural hair doing whatever it chooses to do and baby doesn’t mind either.  The nerve of some women. Projecting their own self image issues on to Blue’s hair. Why do you care? Why is it bothering you? What, you know them?

I was on instagram and someone posted a picture of baby Blue’s hair.  All kinds of slander and hate was up under that post. And then, out of nowhere, the #beyhive buzzed into action. Y’all do know about the Beyhive right? Well its basically Beyoncés social networking mafia. I’m not a member,  and I haven’t quite figured out how they always swarm into action at precisely the right time.  What I do know is this, whoever posted the picture of Blue’s hair is no longer on instagram. Case closed.

You won’t find the picture, or any other picture of Blue’s hair in this here post. If  you’d fancy yourself on seeing it, try google. Flatout, I ain’t the one. Case closed.

I’m not going as far as to have debates about the baby’ hair. As I’ve said before, I don’t know the Carters and I really don’t care. I think Blue is a beautiful baby and her natural hair should be celebrated. I do wonder though, how Beyoncé must feel. Even if you have the thickest skin,  it’s hurtful. As a mother, I will fade to black about one of mines in 0.0 seconds. You don’t come for people’s kids like that. I will go off about mines. Case closed.

The bottom is this, Blue is just a baby. She is not your child, and her hair being “unkempt” as you call it, is her mother’s choice. Now if you want to sound off about something concerning children, why not sound off about these babies making these twerk videos. Nasty! Oh, but y’all think that’s cute though. Em hmm.

My daughter showed me a video uploaded to Vine for the world to see, and this baby, who couldnt have been any older than two, was obviously taught to curse. Yelling out profanity better than any sailor I ever heard of. Why can’t these same group of women get disgusted by that. Instead, we ignore the twerk videos, the cursing baby videos and we put our attention on an innocent babies natural hair. I mean really. Wake up people. We have to do better.

Peace and love
Dee

4 comments
  1. I fade to black in 0.0 seconds as well about mine and it has bothered me since the beginning as to why anyone would have something to say about little Blue’s hair. I too have been a victim from my own family. The only reason I put beads and bows in my little ones hair is because they call it lazy if I do not do her hair. Any child’s hair does not depict how their parents are taking care of them. Most of these people with things to say are childless and/or followers. It’s disgusting. Maybe Beyonce will address it one day but it’s actually no one else’s business.

    • My daughters have alot of hair. It’s thick, and a bit much. It’s mostly always done. Every now and then though, we fall under the radar and it’s not done to perfection and I wish somebody would dare try it with me. I think Beyonce has risen above it. Addressing it will be giving it power so hopefully she just ignores ignorance. Hope it doesn’t make her cry at night.. the comments, it’s really sad
      Thanks for reading

  2. Quarlita Smith said:

    Am so happy you are back

Leave a Reply

